Tags

,

I started a new project this morning. I went to the Scottish People’s Registrar Office for their daily introductory session, and to get a start on learning a bit more about my family tree and my scottish connections.

My priority is to find out more about my grandmothers family and if possible find clues that will help me meet living relatives. They have a website where you can search birth, marriage and death records for the last two centuries as well as old census information and a few other things. It being my first day, I only was interested in births, marriages and deaths.

It was a great start, but I’ll need to head back next week.

I found my grandparents’ marriage certificate on their system, and am starting to feel like a proper researcher. Pretty soon I’ll have to decide if there are any  things that I want copies of.  I don’t have such grandiose plans, but I know some people create massive family histories with rooms full of source material.

So far I’ve sketched out a few new branches on the family tree, but there is much more to do. Its a little time consuming to do all these searches, and some of the handwriting is very difficult to decipher or has faded over time.

It would be nice to have more of understanding of the family, ideally before I go up to the Cameron Museum east of Fort William. If I’m successful in tracking down some of my Scottish relatives, I might also find they have researched their genealogies and have information they can share with me.